Fitness and Health

10450219_10204399692023494_4718590145549174302_oSwim suit competition is not weighted the most of the different areas but sure can require a lot of work! This part of competition has truly challenged the way I live my life and has forced me to make healthier choices. I am starting a 3 month training and diet plan; through this process I will take weekly pictures to watch the transformation to my body.

My diet:

1) I’ve been a vegetarian for 5 years now, so I’ve generally made good eating choices…except for the chocolate, pasta, potato chips, and soda!  Therefore, I am limiting the bad carbs from my food selection as my first move towards a healthier diet.

2) I am increasing the amount of protein I consume. This might be a little more challenging since I do not eat meat but drinking soy protein shakes can help me build  muscle, as well as certain yogurts and beans.

3) Water is my BEST FRIEND. It’s surprising how much water we should actually be drinking a day…. I may be making more trips to the bathroom but my body and health will be thanking me later!

4) Instead of 3 large meals a day I am going to try and have 5 to 7 snacks within my day to keep my body fueled and increase my metabolism.

5) I will not eat later than 3 hours before I go to bed so that my body doesn’t just store the food I just ate.

6) I will count calories and try to stay around 1200 to 1300 a day for the first 3 weeks, but more importantly I want to count chemicals. My ultimate goal is to work towards a non-genetically modified diet because I believe that what I put into my body will reflect my health and life in the long run.

Although these initial moves towards better eating habits are basic, I will  change my diet and it’s restrictions every 3 weeks to keep myself on a healthy and gradual dieting schedule. My biggest ambition though…is to not just associate these eating habits with pageant season, but as a life style.

 

WORKOUT

I am someone who naturally loves to be active, however only when I’m in the “mood” that is. I am going to begin to actually use my gym membership at experience fitness so that I can strengthen my body.

1) I am planning to run! Yes. Me. Running…..long distances….. My older sister has inspired me to become a runner since she recently just completed her first half-marathon! I know that running can shed pounds for pageants, but it’s also great for the heart which I’ll be thankful for years from now.

2) I will lift (I’m talking about weights people) in the gym once a week. Focusing on my arms and back muscle groups. In the future as I become more experienced I will separate these muscle groups more.

3) Squatting twice a week, NO exceptions. I can never skip leg day as that’s where I see myself improving the most. In all honesty, I am most self conscious about my legs.

 

03e7c690ac53f8e8ead46c7ca44ed6e2e225a403e5639d7d9d4a7fa6d2371926I am VERY excited to begin this diet and start my journey towards the many different destinations I see myself reaching in life. ❤

 

Leave a comment